Books I Read in 2014, Ranked

Sebastian_Bieniek_2012_Brush_Rotations_No_2_painting

I wish this list was longer. 2014 was a great year, packed with challenges and experiences. Abundant in chill-time, however, it was not, and my reading suffered. I’ve seen plenty of these lists, written by the professional book bloggers and critics I follow on Twitter and so on, that are enviably long – long enough that I could probably have added them to my own list to beef it up. But here you go. An honest little list of the books I read in 2014, vaguely ranked from best to worst.

Currently reading (and loving):

Anna Karenina: Leo Tolstoy

 

Finished in 2014:

The Adulterous Woman: Albert Camus [fiction, short stories]

Hold Your Own: Kate Tempest [poetry]

2BR02B: Kurt Vonnegut [fiction, short story]

Wolf in White Van: John Darnielle [fiction, novel]

Sputnik Sweetheart: Haruki Murakami [fiction, novel]

Neverwhere: Neil Gaiman [fiction, novel]

Lady Oracle: Margaret Atwood [fiction, novel]

No One Belongs Here More Than You: Miranda July [fiction, short stories]

Pictures of Fidelman: Bernard Malamud [fiction, short stories]

Politics and The English Language: George Orwell [non-fiction, essay]

 

I’ll be honest, the ranking is a crappy veil of purposefulness over what is at heart a vanity exercise; delightfully, all but the last couple were really great reads. Leave a comment letting me know your best or worst read of 2014, and the books you’re most excited for in 2015.

Until next time x

Artwork credit: Sebastian Bieniek

Leave a Reply

